Licensed Professions: How Long Each One Takes and What Actually Gates It
How licensed professions really work: accreditor, supervised hours and exam, with counselling hours compared across four state boards.
For licensed work, finishing the degree is rarely the last step. Almost every regulated profession has the same three-part structure: an accredited qualification, a block of supervised hours, then one or more examinations before a state will license you.
The supervised hours are what people underestimate. A counsellor finishes a master’s in two years and then usually works another two to three years under supervision, depending on the state, before they can practise independently. That second half is invisible in most course marketing.
Regulated professions are attractive for a reason: the licence is a barrier that protects the people inside it. Demand is steadier, pay is better, and the work cannot be given to someone unqualified. The price is a long, rule-bound route in, and the rules are set by state boards rather than by the universities selling you the degree.
This page maps the routes. Each links to a fuller guide as we publish it.
The routes compared
| Profession | Qualification | Supervised hours after | Exam | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insurance agent | Pre-licensing course | None | State exam | Weeks |
| Real estate agent | Pre-licensing course | Usually work under a broker | State exam | Months |
| Teacher | Bachelor’s plus preparation programme | Student teaching | State exams | 4 to 5 years |
| Accountant (CPA) | 150 credit hours | 1 to 2 years, depending on the route | CPA exam, 4 parts | 6 to 7 years |
| Social worker (LCSW) | MSW, CSWE accredited | Set by each state board | ASWB exam | 7 to 8 years |
| Counsellor (LPC) | Master’s, CACREP preferred | About 3,000 hours in three of the four states checked (Florida: two years including 1,500 face-to-face hours; see below) | NCMHCE in California, Florida and New York (New York does not accept the NCE); Texas not stated in the rule text opened | 7 to 8 years |
| Lawyer | JD, ABA accredited | None in most states | Bar exam | 7 years |
| Architect | NAAB accredited degree | AXP: 3,740 hours | ARE, 6 divisions | 8 to 11 years |
| Physical therapist | DPT doctorate | None required | NPTE | 7 years |
| Psychologist | PhD or PsyD | Internship plus postdoctoral hours | EPPP | 9 to 12 years |
| Actuary | Bachelor’s | None | Exam series | 6 to 10 years |
Two things stand out in that table.
First, the range is enormous. You can be a licensed insurance agent in a matter of weeks and a licensed psychologist in about a decade, and both are legitimate professional routes. The length tracks how much independent judgement the role carries and how much harm a mistake causes.
Second, the supervised hours column is where the surprises live. Law and physical therapy have none; you qualify, you pass, you practise. Counselling, social work and psychology require years of supervised work after the degree, at reduced pay, before you can practise independently. Figures are typical; requirements differ by state, so check the state board before you enrol. Someone comparing a two-year counselling master’s against a three-year law degree on length alone is comparing the wrong numbers.
Accreditation: the name to check for each
In every case below, graduating from a programme accredited by the named body is what makes you eligible to sit the licensing exam. Institutional accreditation alone is not enough.
| Profession | Accreditor to look for |
|---|---|
| Law | ABA (American Bar Association) |
| Counselling | CACREP |
| Social work | CSWE |
| Psychology | APA (for doctoral programmes and internships) |
| Architecture | NAAB |
| Accountancy | AACSB is common, but the state board’s credit rules govern |
| Physical therapy | CAPTE |
| Teaching | CAEP, plus state programme approval |
Verify on the accreditor’s own directory, never on the school’s website. Our guide to checking an online degree explains why that distinction matters and how diploma mills exploit it.
Supervised hours in four states, read from the rules
Supervised-hours figures online are usually rounded averages. The table below uses the licensing authority’s own page or rule text for one profession, mental health counselling, in four states. All four were read on 18 October 2026; rules change, so confirm against the board before you rely on them.
| State | Licence | Supervised experience after the master’s | Exam | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas | LPC | 3,000 clock hours, at least 1,500 of them direct counselling; cannot be completed in under 18 months; at least 4 hours of supervision a month | Not stated in the rule text opened; check the Texas board | 22 TAC 681.92 |
| California | LPCC | 3,000 hours over a minimum of 104 weeks | California Law and Ethics exam plus NCMHCE | Board of Behavioral Sciences |
| Florida | LMHC | Two years under an approved supervisor, including 1,500 hours of face-to-face psychotherapy and at least 100 hours of supervision over 100 weeks | NCMHCE (registration $350 first sitting) | Florida Dept of Health |
| New York | LMHC | 3,000 clock hours, at least 1,500 with direct client contact | NCMHCE (the NCE is not accepted) | NYSED Office of the Professions |
Even within one profession the headline number moves. Three of the four states ask for 3,000 hours, while Florida counts 1,500 face-to-face hours inside a two-year minimum. The exam is also not interchangeable: New York says the NCE does not substitute for the NCMHCE, so a candidate who passed only the NCE would need to sit the NCMHCE.
What those hours mean in calendar time
The rules set a floor on elapsed time as well as hours, and the arithmetic below shows why part-time or low-paid placements stretch the timeline. The working-week figures are illustrative assumptions, not board data.
- Texas, full time (illustrative 40 hours a week): 3,000 / 40 = 75 weeks, about 17 months. The 18-month rule is the binding limit, so the earliest finish is 18 months.
- Texas or New York, half time (illustrative 20 hours a week of qualifying work): 3,000 / 20 = 150 weeks, about 2.9 years.
- California, full time: 3,000 / 40 = 75 weeks, but the board requires at least 104 weeks, so the floor is two years however fast you log hours. To use all 104 weeks efficiently you would need 3,000 / 104 = about 29 hours a week.
The same logic applies elsewhere. NCARB’s Architectural Experience Program requires 3,740 hours across six experience areas. At an illustrative 2,000 hours a year that is 3,740 / 2,000 = 1.9 years of full-time work, and at 1,000 hours a year it is 3.7 years.
CPA: three routes, not one
The older shorthand, 150 credit hours then one or two years of experience, is now only one of several options. NASBA’s December 2025 post on new pathways lists three model routes, each also requiring a pass on the CPA Exam:
| Route | Education | Experience |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate degree | Graduate degree in accounting | 1 year |
| Traditional | 150 semester hours (bachelor’s plus 30) | 1 year |
| New | 120 semester hours (bachelor’s degree in accounting) | 2 years |
NASBA notes that each jurisdiction has to pass its own law to adopt the new models, so which route is open to you depends on the state. Check NASBA’s licensure pathways page or the state board before planning around the 150-hour figure.
Why licences do not travel
This catches people out repeatedly and it is worth understanding before you choose where to study.
A professional licence is issued by a state, not by a country or a professional body. Moving state means applying to the new state’s board. Sometimes that is a formality under a reciprocity or endorsement arrangement. Sometimes it means additional coursework, extra supervised hours, or in the case of law, sitting another bar examination entirely.
- Most portable: professions using a single national examination with wide endorsement, such as physical therapy and social work.
- Moderately portable: counselling and psychology, where hour requirements and course content differ enough to cause friction.
- Least portable: law, where many states require their own bar exam regardless of where you are already admitted.
The shortest routes into licensed work
Not every licence takes years. If the appeal is regulated, stable work rather than a specific profession, these are the quick ones.
- Insurance agent. A pre-licensing course and a state exam, achievable in weeks. Different lines of authority, such as life, health and property, are separate licences. Genuinely one of the fastest routes into a commissioned professional role.
- Real estate agent. Pre-licensing hours and a state exam, then working under a broker. Months, not years.
- Pharmacy technician. Certificate plus state registration in most states.
- Phlebotomy and nursing assistant. Weeks to months, and both count as patient care experience toward longer healthcare routes. See healthcare careers without medical school.
These lower the barrier rather than removing it, and they generally pay less than the long routes. But they get you inside a regulated field quickly, and several of them stack toward something longer if you decide to continue.
Questions to ask before committing
- How many supervised hours does my state require after the degree, and at what pay?
- Is this specific programme accredited by the body my state board names? Check on the accreditor’s site.
- What is the exam pass rate for this programme’s graduates? Published for most accredited programmes.
- Will this licence be recognised in the state I actually want to live in?
- What does maintaining the licence cost each year in continuing education and renewal fees?
That last one is the quiet cost of licensed work. Continuing education is a permanent obligation in most regulated professions, and it recurs for as long as you hold the credential.
Weighing the training against what the work pays
Licensed professions are usually presented as obviously worth it, because a licence protects the people inside it. That is true on average and it hides a wide spread, so it is worth doing the comparison deliberately.
Three factors decide whether a given route pays off, and only one of them is the salary.
- How long you are not earning. A route with three years of full-time study and two years of supervised practice at trainee pay costs five years of income, not three.
- Whether the qualification is funded. Some doctorates pay a stipend and some charge full tuition, and the difference between two otherwise identical routes can be six figures.
- Whether demand is local. Licences are state-bound, so a shortage two states away does not help you.
The most reliable way to check any of this is not a national salary table. It is to search current job postings for the licence you are considering, in the place you intend to live, and see how many exist and what they offer. Twenty minutes of that tells you more than any ranking.
What happens if you fail the exam
Rarely discussed before people commit, yet failure rates on professional examinations are not trivial and the consequences differ enormously between professions.
| Exam | Retakes | Practical consequence of failing |
|---|---|---|
| Bar exam | Generally allowed, sometimes capped by state | Several months delay; a job offer may be conditional on passing |
| EPPP (psychology) | Allowed after a waiting period | Delays licensure; postdoctoral role may continue meanwhile |
| NCE / NCMHCE (counselling) | Allowed after a waiting period | Delays independent practice |
| CPA exam | Sections retaken individually | Only the failed section is repeated |
| NPTE (physical therapy) | Allowed, with limits in some states | Delays licensure |
| State insurance exam | Allowed, short waiting period | Minor; retake within weeks |
Two patterns are worth noticing. The CPA structure is unusually forgiving, because sections are passed and retained individually rather than as one pass-or-fail event. And in law, failing is expensive in a way the exam fee does not capture, because employment offers are frequently conditional on admission.
The number to ask any programme for is its first-attempt pass rate, not its eventual pass rate. Eventual rates flatter programmes that leave graduates to resit repeatedly at their own cost. Accredited programmes publish first-attempt figures, and a large gap between the two numbers tells you something about the teaching.
Changing career into a licensed profession
A large share of people entering regulated work are not 18. They already hold a degree in something else, and the question is what that degree buys them.
- Your existing bachelor’s usually counts. Most professional routes require a bachelor’s in any subject, so you rarely start from zero. Law, counselling, social work and accountancy all accept any undergraduate field.
- Prerequisites may not. Some routes need specific courses you never took. These can normally be completed individually at a community college for a fraction of a second degree.
- A second bachelor’s is rarely the answer. Where a master’s exists in the field, it is usually faster and better regarded than repeating undergraduate study.
- Post-baccalaureate programmes exist specifically to fill prerequisite gaps for career changers, particularly toward health professions.
- Credit expiry catches people. Several routes require science prerequisites taken within the last five to ten years, so a degree from 1998 may not carry the courses forward.
The efficient sequence is to pick the destination licence first, read that state board’s requirements, list what you already satisfy, and buy only the gap. People who instead enrol in a general degree hoping it will be relevant frequently pay for coursework the board does not ask for.
If you qualified outside the country
This is one of the least-served questions in professional licensing and it affects a great many people.
A professional qualification earned abroad does not transfer automatically. State boards generally require a credential evaluation from a recognised agency, which assesses your foreign degree against the local equivalent and issues a report the board will accept. Choose an agency the board actually names, because reports from unrecognised evaluators are routinely rejected.
Beyond that, requirements vary sharply by profession:
- Some professions bridge reasonably well, requiring the evaluation, an examination and sometimes supplementary coursework.
- Some require substantial re-qualification, including repeating supervised practice locally even where you practised for years elsewhere.
- Law is the most restrictive. Foreign-qualified lawyers frequently need an additional qualification before they may sit a bar examination, and only some states allow it at all.
The practical advice is the same as everywhere else on this page, only more so: contact the board before you move, not after. Ask specifically which evaluation agencies they accept, whether your qualification is recognised, and what supplementary requirements apply. Getting that answer in writing early is the difference between a year of paperwork and several years of repeated study.
Sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics: High School Teachers
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Social Workers
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Lawyers
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Architects
- Texas Administrative Code, 22 TAC 681.92 (LPC experience)
- California Board of Behavioral Sciences: LPCC
- Florida Department of Health: Licensed Mental Health Counselor
- NYSED Office of the Professions: Mental Health Counselors
- NCARB: AXP experience requirements
- NASBA: New CPA licensure pathways