Colleges With No Application Fee: A Checked List and a Waiver Flow for 2026-27
Named US colleges with no first-year application fee, the Common App, NACAC and military waiver rules, and the cost of an 8-school list. Checked Oct 2026.
Most students will not need to pay for every application. Some colleges charge nothing. Others waive the fee if you meet a stated rule. Some state programs waive it for a few days: Texas’s week ended on 18 October 2026, and Colorado’s runs 20 to 22 October 2026.
This page lists named colleges, the exact rules each waiver uses, and the arithmetic on a typical list. Every figure comes from a college page or from Common App’s 2026-27 requirements grid. Dates are in the Sources section.
The cost problem, in numbers
I read the Common App 2026-27 First-year requirements grid (updated 25 September 2026) and counted the rows I could extract as text. This is my count, not Common App’s. Treat it as approximate.
- Of roughly 1,100 listings I could read, more than half show a $0 fee for US applicants.
- Among the colleges that charge, the median fee is $50 and the highest is $150.
So the older claim that fees “typically run $50 to $90” is true only for selective schools. Georgia Tech charges $75, the University of Georgia $70, Duke $85, Harvard $95, Stanford $100. A list built from those names costs far more than a list built from the whole grid.
Named colleges with no first-year application fee
The “Where verified” column says what I opened. “Grid” means Common App’s 2026-27 grid, which shows $0 for US applicants. “Own page” means the college’s website also says so.
| College | Type | Last regular deadline in grid | Where verified | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bates College | Private, Maine | 10 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Carleton College | Private, Minnesota | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | Own page lists deadlines but not the fee |
| Colby College | Private, Maine | 4 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Grinnell College | Private, Iowa | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid, own page | Page says there is “no separate application fee” |
| Kenyon College | Private, Ohio | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Macalester College | Private, Minnesota | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Middlebury College | Private, Vermont | 4 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Oberlin (Arts and Sciences) | Private, Ohio | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | The Conservatory of Music charges $100 |
| Reed College | Private, Oregon | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Smith College | Women’s college, Massachusetts | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Wellesley College | Women’s college, Massachusetts | 8 Jan 2027 | Grid | |
| Trinity University | Private, Texas | 1 Feb 2027 | Grid | |
| Tulane University | Private, Louisiana | 15 Jan 2027 | Grid, own page | Page says no fee for all undergraduate academic programs |
| Michigan Technological University | Public, Michigan | 30 Apr 2027 (last date listed) | Grid | Grid shows $35 for international applicants, which Michigan Tech’s own page confirms |
| Colorado: Adams State, CSU Fort Collins, CSU Pueblo, Metropolitan State, Western Colorado | Public | Rolling | Colorado Dept. of Higher Education page | Colorado residents only |
Three cautions.
- A $0 fee is a policy that can change by cycle. The grid was updated 25 September 2026 for the 2026-27 cycle. Check the college’s page before you submit.
- Some colleges charge domestic and international applicants differently. Michigan Tech is one example, and so is Anderson University (Indiana), where the grid shows $0 for the US and $50 for international applicants.
- A free application tells you about the college’s recruiting. It does not tell you the net price. Run each college’s net price calculator before you decide where to apply.
Community colleges in Colorado charge no application fee all year, according to the Colorado Department of Higher Education. I did not check community colleges in other states.
State free-application weeks
These are time-boxed. Missing the window means the normal fee applies.
| State | Dates | Who | Rule that matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas | 12 to 18 October 2026 | Texas residents applying through ApplyTexas | Submit by 11:59 p.m. CDT on 18 October. A started but unsubmitted application does not count. All publicly funded Texas colleges must waive the fee. Other platforms are up to each school. |
| Colorado | 20 to 22 October 2026 | Colorado residents, undergraduate | 13 public four-year schools take part, plus private ones including Colorado College, University of Denver, Regis, Naropa and Colorado Christian. Graduate applicants are excluded. |
One small check shows why you should read the college page too. Texas State University lists a $75 fee and a Pell-based waiver. Its fee-waiver page does not mention Free College Application Week. The state’s page says all publicly funded Texas colleges must waive fees for ApplyTexas applications in the window. If you apply during the window, the state rule governs. Keep a screenshot of your confirmation anyway.
Waiver rules, side by side
The same person can qualify under several systems. They differ on who signs and how many colleges they cover.
| Waiver | Who qualifies | Who confirms | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Common App fee waiver | Request in the Profile section: answer yes to the fee waiver statement and sign. | Your counselor is asked to confirm. You can still submit without a fee while they do. | Covers any college you apply to through Common App, per the Common App guide. |
| NACAC form | Undergraduate applicants with financial need. Pell recipients confirm with a FAFSA Submission Summary or aid officer. Self-certification is allowed only on NACAC’s transfer and deposit forms; on the first-year form an authorized official confirms eligibility. An official can also check “Other request” with a written reason. | A counselor, principal, postsecondary support staff, or community-organization official. A school seal is no longer required. | One form per college, recommended maximum four. The NACAC form and an SAT waiver are separate, so a student can use the NACAC form at up to four colleges and the SAT waiver at others. |
| College Board SAT fee waiver | Seniors who took the SAT with a fee waiver | None needed on the form | Applies at “participating colleges.” BigFuture has a search tool for which ones. |
| College’s own waiver | Varies | Varies | Georgia Tech, Texas State and Yale each differ (see below). |
| Military and veterans | Active duty and veterans at many colleges | Varies | UNC, UConn and Yale are examples (see below). |
The College Board page I opened did not state how many college application waivers an SAT waiver comes with. Do not assume a number. Ask your counselor, or check BigFuture.
What three real colleges say
- Georgia Tech. The first-year fee is $75 ($85 international), non-refundable. You may be eligible if you have an ACT or SAT fee waiver, are in or eligible for free or reduced-price lunch, have family income within USDA guidelines, are in a low-income program such as TRIO/Upward Bound, get public assistance, live in subsidized housing, foster care or homelessness, or are a ward of the state or an orphan. Students in FEMA-declared disaster areas can also request one.
- Texas State University. The fee is $75 ($90 international). Waivers go to first-time freshmen, transfers and returning students whose FAFSA shows Pell eligibility. First-time freshmen with financial need can instead get a fee deferral, which delays payment until the first semester bill.
- Yale. Yale says it “does not issue its own fee waivers.” You get one through the Common App or Coalition Application. The QuestBridge Application is always free. Veterans and active-duty service members receive automatic waivers.
Military and veterans
- UNC. The page says: “We will waive the application fee for any applicant who is an active-duty member or veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces.” You mark your status in the Common App. If you already paid, a refund comes automatically within four weeks of submission.
- UConn. Active-duty members, veterans, National Guard and reservists qualify. Veterans, guardsmen and reservists send a DD214. Active-duty applicants send an active military ID, a Joint Services Transcript, or a letter from a commander or personnel office.
Rules differ by college on dependents. I did not verify the dependent rules at either school, so I leave them out.
A step-by-step flow
Work down this list for each college on your list.
- Is the fee already $0? Check the Common App grid or the college’s admissions page. If yes, stop. Nothing else is needed.
- Is it a Texas or Colorado public college inside a free week? If your state’s window is open, apply during it. Submit before the deadline, not just start.
- Are you active duty or a veteran? Look for a military waiver on that college’s page. Have your DD214 or equivalent ready.
- Do you meet any need test? The common ones are an SAT or ACT fee waiver, free or reduced-price lunch, Pell eligibility, family income within USDA guidelines, TRIO or similar program, foster care, homelessness, or ward-of-the-state status. If yes, request the Common App fee waiver in the Profile section. Your counselor confirms.
- Does the college accept the Common App waiver? The grid has a column for this. Some colleges do not accept it. In my count, 19 colleges that charge a fee are marked “Not Accepted.” For those, use the college’s own process or the NACAC form, if the college takes it.
- Is the fee still unwaived? Email admissions. State your name, the term, that the fee is a barrier, and ask whether a waiver is available. I could not verify how often this works, so treat it as a last step, not a plan.
The math on an 8-college list
Fees below are the US first-year fees in Common App’s 2026-27 grid, except Georgia Tech, which is from its own page. The list is an illustration of arithmetic. It is not a recommended list.
| College | Fee |
|---|---|
| Georgia Tech | $75 |
| University of Georgia | $70 |
| Northeastern | $75 |
| Duke | $85 |
| Vassar | $65 |
| Swarthmore | $60 |
| Whitman | $60 |
| Hamilton | $65 |
| Total | $555 |
Scenario 1, no waiver. $555.
Scenario 2, Common App waiver accepted everywhere. The grid marks Duke, Vassar, Swarthmore, Whitman, Hamilton and Northeastern as accepting it. Georgia Tech takes the waiver request made in the Common App Profile section. The University of Georgia is marked “U.S. only,” which means the waiver applies to US students. Cost: $0 for a qualifying US student.
Scenario 3, NACAC form only. Four forms at most. Use them on the four highest fees: Duke ($85), Georgia Tech ($75), Northeastern ($75), University of Georgia ($70) = $305 waived. You pay the other four: Vassar ($65) + Hamilton ($65) + Swarthmore ($60) + Whitman ($60) = $250.
Scenario 4, swap in no-fee colleges. Replace Duke, Northeastern and Swarthmore with Carleton, Grinnell and Tulane. The new total is Georgia Tech $75 + UGA $70 + Vassar $65 + Hamilton $65 + Whitman $60 = $335. A qualifying student still pays $0. A student who does not qualify saves $220 against Scenario 1.
The gap between Scenario 1 and Scenario 4 is $220. That is real money for a family without a waiver. It is a small number next to a net price that can differ by tens of thousands, so build the list by fit and cost first. Then use the flow above to reduce what you pay.
Two traps
- Common App lets you submit without a fee while your counselor confirms, so do not pay first. Not every college refunds a fee already paid.
- NACAC warns that students at schools where everyone gets free or reduced lunch may not automatically qualify. Use your household’s situation.
Sources
All retrieved 2026-10-15.
- Common App, 2026-27 First-year deadlines, fees and requirements (updated 25 Sep 2026): https://content.commonapp.org/Files/ReqGrid.pdf. Supports the fee amounts, $0 listings, deadlines, waiver acceptance column, and my counts (extracted from the PDF text).
- Common App, Understanding application fees and fee waivers: https://www.commonapp.org/static/d8d4fe3bc09d9b0a67d715d9bb6b20f9/FY-Apply-College-Application-Fees-Waivers.pdf. Supports how to request the waiver in Profile, counselor confirmation, and that colleges also offer their own. The PDF carries a 2022 copyright date.
- Common App, Paying for college: https://www.commonapp.org/plan/paying-for-college/. Supports the Profile location of the waiver.
- NACAC, Application fee waivers: https://nacacnet.org/?p=194. Supports the NACAC form eligibility, signers, one form per college, and the four-college recommendation.
- College Board, SAT fee waiver benefits: https://satsuite.collegeboard.org/sat/registration/fee-waivers/fee-waiver-benefits. Supports senior and participating-college rules.
- Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Free College Application Week: https://www.highered.texas.gov/?p=37356. Supports the Texas dates, deadline, eligibility and exclusions.
- Colorado Department of Higher Education, Free Application Days: https://highered.colorado.gov/cofreeappdays. Supports the Colorado dates, participants, and year-round no-fee colleges.
- Georgia Tech, First-Year Application Fees: https://admission.gatech.edu/first-year/application-fees. Supports Georgia Tech’s fee and waiver criteria.
- Texas State University, Application Fees and Waivers: https://www.admissions.txst.edu/future-students/fee-waiver.html. Supports the Texas State fee, Pell waiver and deferral.
- Yale College Admissions, Fee waivers: https://admissions.yale.edu/fee-waiver. Supports Yale’s waiver route, QuestBridge and military waivers.
- UNC Chapel Hill, What about the application fee: https://admissions.unc.edu/faqs/what-about-the-application-fee/. Supports the UNC military waiver and refund.
- UConn, Veteran and military applicants: https://admissions.uconn.edu/apply/veteran-military-applicants/. Supports the UConn military waiver and documents.
- Grinnell College, First-year applicants: https://www.grinnell.edu/admission/apply/first-year. Supports “no separate application fee.”
- Tulane University, Apply: https://tulane.edu/apply. Supports no fee for undergraduate academic programs.
- Michigan Tech, Apply: https://www.mtu.edu/admissions/apply/. Supports the $35 international fee (the page did not state the domestic fee).
- Carleton College, Apply: https://www.carleton.edu/admissions/apply/. Supports Carleton’s deadlines; the page did not mention the fee.